Thursday, 25 November 2010

REM confirm New Album Track Listing

The forthcoming new album by REM named ‘Collapse Into Now‘ track listing have been announced by the band

In an interview with Spin, Mills said the album was “more expansive” than its predecessor, 2008's 'Accelerate'.

Meanwhile, R.E.M's classic hit 'Everybody Hurts' has been named the song most likely to make men cry, a new survey revealed.

The tracklisting for 'Collapse Into Now' is:

'All The Best'
'Oh My Heart'
'It Happened Today' (featuring Eddie Vedder)
'Every Day Is Yours To Win'
'Alligator Aviator Autopilot Antimatter' (featuring Peaches and Lenny Kaye)
'Walk It Back'
'Mine Smell Like Honey'
'That Someone Is You'
'Me, Marlon Brando, Marlon Brando and I'

Sunday, 14 November 2010

REM line up guest stars for new album

The REM band's bass guitar player Mike Mills has revealed,REM's forthcoming album features a series of cameos from various music stars.

Album Collapse Into Now has been ready to release in the start of January 2011,the album includes the contribution from Patti Smith, Peaches and Pearl Jam's Eddie Vedder.

He said that the album has different variety of songs which will definitely be appreciated by their fans

"We wanted to put more variety into it," the bass guitar player explained.

"There are some really slow, beautiful songs, there are some nice, mid-tempo ones and then there are three or four rockers."

Berlin, New Orleans and Nashville are the main locations where they records the album and really enjoyed visiting that places

Earlier this year, REM's 1981 single Radio Free Europe was selected as one of 25 songs to be included in the US National Recording Registry housed at the Library of Congress.

Thursday, 4 November 2010

R.E.M name guest vocalists

R.E.M's latest album features Eddie Vedder, Patti Smith and Peaches.

The band's fifteenth album, 'Collapse Into Now', features three guest singers alongside regular vocalist Michael Stipe and has been described by the band as a "very personal, very human record", in contrast to their politically slanted last album, 'Accelerate'.

Bassist and keyboardist Mike Mills told "With Accelerate we were trying to make a point by making the songs as short and as fast as possible.

very personal, very human record

"So we wanted this new one to be more expansive. We wanted to put more variety into it and not limit ourselves to any one type of song.
Comment on this Article

"It's a very personal, very human record. Not only to Michael, but personal and human in the sense of the narrative of the songs, the protagonists of the songs."

Describing the variety of songs on the album, Mike added: "There are some really slow, beautiful songs; there are some nice, mid-tempo ones; and then there are three or four rockers."

The tracks which feature guest vocals are album closer, 'Blue' which includes Patti, 'It Happened Today' with Pearl Jam singer Eddie and an as-yet untitled track with Peaches; although Mike promised the name of the song will include the word 'Alligator'.

'Collapse Into Now' is set for release next year.